Governing Body

Our Governing Body

School Governors and Committee Membership 2020 – 21

Full Governing Board:

Chair of Governors:  Chris Hudson             Vice Chair:  Faiz Hussain             Clerk: Lyndsey Pearson

Sub-committee Membership:

Resources & Personnel


Teaching, Learning & Safeguarding


Chair Faiz Hussain (Parent) Chair Jean Preston
Kim Buck (Headteacher) Chris Hudson
Kally Shergill (Community) Kim Buck (Headteacher)
Iram Rashid (Parent) Iala Sharp (Staff)
Elizabeth Edgington Elizabeth Edgington
Paul Kilner (Co-opted) Paul Kilner (Co-opted)
Qaisar Malik (Parent)
Clerk Lyndsey Pearson Clerk Emma Wilson


Headteacher Performance Management: Pay Appeals: Complaints:
Chris Hudson Chris Hudson Jean Preston
Faiz Hussain Qaiasar Malik Iram Rashid
Kally Shergill Jean Preston Kally Shergill

Pay Committee – to be delegated to the Resources Committee

Governors with specific monitoring duties:

Responsibility: Governor: School staff lead:
Child Protection & Safeguarding Chris Hudson Kim Buck,

Christine Morton

S.E.N.D. Jean Preston Kath Walsh
Attendance Kally Shergill,

Faiz Hussain

Christine Morton,

Kath Walsh

Looked After Children Chris Hudson Kath Walsh
Early Years Foundation Stage Elizabeth Edgington Anne-France Wilson, Gill Marsh
Equalities Qaisar Malik Miff Howarth
English Iram Rashid,

Elizabeth Edgington

Hannah Wade
Maths Jean Preston Miff Howarth
Health & Safety Chris Hudson Kim Buck
Pupil Premium Kally Shergill Paul Kilner
P.E. & Sports Premium Kally Shergill Alex Reddish
P.S.H.E. / Relationships and Sex Education Jean Preston Jas Lally,

Lydia Tyler

Healthy Schools Chris Hudson Kath Walsh
Assessment Chris Hudson Paul Kilner
Training Governor Chris Hudson Kim Buck

 Governor details:

Governor From Expires
Mr Qaisar Ajaib

Mr Kim Buck





Mrs Iala Sharp 08.02.2017 07.02.2021
Mr Chris Hudson 04.10.2017 04.10.2021
Mr Faiz Hussain 05.05.2019 05.05.2023
Mrs Jean Preston 01.03.2017 28.02.2021
Mrs Iram Rashid 30.01.2018 30.01.2022
Mr Kally Shergill 05.05.2019 05.05.2023
 Mrs Elizabeth Edgington  07.03.2018  07.03.2022

School governors work with the Headteacher to make decisions about how the school is run. They have legal duties, powers and responsibilities.

School governors are appointed to:

  • monitor the work of the school and the standards attained
  • approve what is taught in school
  • set standards of behaviour
  • interview and select staff
  • agree and monitor the school budget
  • ratify policies

Governors work together: they cannot act individually.

School governors are:

  • parents
  • school staff
  • local council representatives
  • community representatives, business people etc

Parent governors:

  • have a child in school
  • are elected by parents of children in school
  • serve, as do other governors, for four years

The Governing Body and its committees meet at least twice a term. The minutes of the meetings are available in school. If you are interested in becoming a governor, please ask the Headteacher for further details.